FAQ › Projects

Closing a Redmine project (making it read-only)

Created on 2023-02-02  •  KUROTANI Akihiro

When you perform the "Close" operation on a Redmine project, you can still view the information registered in the project. However, you can no longer update the information in the project, for example by creating issues or updating wiki pages. If a project has ended but you want to keep referring to its information in Redmine, close the project. This prevents mistakes such as creating an issue in it.

How to close a project

  1. Display the "Overview" page of the project that you want to close.
  2. Click "…" (Actions) on the right.
  3. Click "Close" in the drop-down menu.
  4. The dialog "Are you sure you want to close the '(project name)' project to make it read-only?" appears. Click "OK".

How to restore a closed project

  1. Click "Projects" in the top menu to display the project list page.
  2. Under "Filters", select "is" and "closed" for "Status", and click "Apply".
  3. Click the project that you want to restore.
  4. Display the "Overview" page of the project.
  5. Click "…" (Actions) on the right.
  6. Click "Reopen" in the drop-down menu.
  7. The dialog "Are you sure you want to reopen the '(project name)' project?" appears. Click "OK".

Related information