FAQ › Projects

Cannot delete a member from a project in Redmine

Created on 2022-07-07  •  YUZURIHA Tomomi

You cannot delete a user in the project settings page if the user was added as a project member through a group. You can remove the user in the group edit page. (If the user is a member both through a group and individually, first remove the user from the group. You can then delete the user in the "Settings" → "Members" tab of the project.)

When you remove a user from a group with this operation, the user is not deleted from Redmine.


"Remove" does not appear for a user who was added as a member through a group

Steps

  1. Click "Administration" → "Groups" → the group that is added as a member of the project.
  2. Click the "Users" tab.
  3. Click "Remove" in the row of the user that you want to remove from the members.

Group edit page

You can also do the same thing as follows: click "Administration" → "Users" → the login of the user → the "Groups" tab, clear the checkbox of the group, and click "Save".

Related information